CAFOnated Meats, Eggs and Dairy

DeCAFOnated Meats, Eggs and Dairy Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs) are a highly destructive method of food production and is simply animal slavery. Chances are,  in CAFO-concentrated Ohio, CAFO expansions and new construction will likely double in the next five years . . . unless something is done quickly. The turning point for me was to see the video on the 32,000-cow confined dairy in Indiana. I would be much in favor of implementing massive DeCAFOnation programs setting those animals free.

Read DeCAFOnated Meats, Eggs and Dairy at the new Journal.

5 responses to “CAFOnated Meats, Eggs and Dairy

  1. Ummm… “setting the animals free”. What to meet another unfortunate and UNNECESSARY end under different circumstances? Why not “set them free” permanently by ceasing the breeding of them to be consumed? We don’t “need” meat after all… Just a thought.

    • The idea of meatless will be handled in a later post that deals with the need to eat meat responsibly. It is a new book called Meat: A Benign Extravagence

  2. Yes… I’ve heard of it. Not so “new” though. It’s been out for over a year. http://www.kimstallwood.com/2010/09/07/monbiot-on-simon-fairlies-meat-a-benign-extravagance/
    I do agree with most critics of this book. The ethical implications of “meat” can’t be trumped.

    In any case – In the interim of your next post perhaps you’d be interested in this little game: Defensive Omnivore Bingo
    Defensive Omnivore Bingo

  3. @beaelliot, not entirely true. I was a vegetarian for years, then began eating meat again and have never felt better. I raise and slaughter my own meat and feel very grounded in this process. I love my animals and they love me, and I truly believe that they desire my use of them. Some of us do need meat to preform at our optimum.

  4. Hi micki – I didn’t realize that you were unable to follow an adequate plant based diet… If you will research the guidelines in the American Dietetic Association “It is the position of the American Dietetic Association that appropriately planned vegetarian diets, including total vegetarian or vegan diets, are healthful, nutritionally adequate, and may provide health benefits in the prevention and treatment of certain diseases. Well-planned vegetarian diets are appropriate for individuals during all stages of the life cycle, including pregnancy, lactation, infancy, childhood, and adolescence, and for athletes.”

    Furthermore – I often look to Bill Clinton who in my best guess has the world’s best health care and most learned advice from his doctors… He has been on a plant-strong diet for almost a year now and seems to be doing remarkably well!🙂

    I’m confused though… You say you “market and slaughter your own meat” – Surely one can only “raise” animals… Correct?

    “I love my animals and they love me, and I truly believe that they desire my use of them”. But of course you think this – How else could you “use” these animals if not? How could you square up that they too love their lives and wish to live – Then slit their throats?

    If you say you “love” your animals… I really have to question your definition of “love”. In my mind, loving means to protect – To wish to see no harm come to that being… To always look to their best interests and wellbeing. I suppose with friends like this – who would snuff a life without cause… Who needs enemies?

    Finally, you say you feel “grounded” in the process… Perhaps “enlightenment” is something that might help further expand your views? I wonder if you have a pet cat or dog? Do you believe that they are sentient and that they value their lives? If so, where is the justification in taking lives, equally as sentient?

    Thanks for a response.

Leave a Reply

