The Nourished Kitchen and the Food Renegade are Nominated for National Award for Sustainable Food

Jenny McGruther

Jenny McGruther of The Nourished Kitchen

Two real food bloggers have been nominated for a prestiguous national award from FoodBuzz.com. Jenny McGruther of Crested Butte, Colorado and Kristen Michaelis of Leander, Texas. They are both Weston A. Price Foundation members and are featured contributors to the FoodBuzz.

Jenny and her husband created and manage the Crested Butte local farmers market and work closely with farmers and the community on developing farm to consumer marketing such as CSAs, community kitchens and gardens, dining co-operatives as well as programs for low-income residents like WIC to market and farmers market foodbanking. Her blog is simply beautiful. Her page designs and nklogophotography are quite artistic. Her tag line for The Nourished Kitchen is “Where Eating Gets Political”. Her style is exquisite that shows her passion for sustainable farming and real food. And, boy, does she have a huge library of recipes. You can see for yourself at the The Nourished Kitchen.

Annie and I have followed both for over a year, off and on, and from our beginning have made both special links of the Journal.

Jenny says she was tickled by the nomination: “I share that distinction with four other fantastic bloggers each of whom touches on the issues surrounding real, sustainable and local foods.  You can view the full list of nominations in several categories here and don’t forget to visit all the sites before casting your vote.”

Another favorite is The Food Renegade and Kristen Michaelis, who we featured before, Kristen says:

“I am a rebel. I like to eat red meat. I think butter is good for me. I drink my milk raw. I avoid pre-packaged foods like the plague. I don’t believe the health claims on food labels. And, I like my food to be fresh, wholesome, and traditional. I’m a wife, a mother, a copywriter, a nutrition & wellness coach, and a passionate advocate for what I call “real food” — as opposed to the edible food-like substances which dominate America’s food industry today.”

IMG_3755-600She has old-style cooking recipes for all the food groups. Kristen explains: “The diet dictocrats in Washington are in the pocket of mammoth agribusinesses, and they’ve confounded and confused the American public long enough. I want to empower people to choose wholesome, healthy, traditional foods — pastured meats and dairy products, organic vegetables, soaked or sprouted grains, fermented vegetables and beverages, and bone broths.”

Here are three other nominees which are also quite talented and most interesting. I hope you will peruse these sites and vote for one of them.

Best Green/Sustainable Blog:
1. A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa
2. Farm to Table
3. Food Renegade
4. Local Lemons
5. Nourished Kitchen

I hope you will enjoy each of these highly praised food blogs.

Voting Ends on October 29, 2009.

Please vote for your favorite here: casting your vote.

4 responses to “The Nourished Kitchen and the Food Renegade are Nominated for National Award for Sustainable Food

  1. Thanks for the mention! gonna work even harder to make it onto your top picks next year!

  2. Thank you so much, Augie! It’s exciting for me to see so many WAPF-friendly websites make the grade.

    I should clarify, though, I’m not a farmer; rather, we’re small farm advocates. My husband and I created and manage our local farmers market and work closely with farmers and the community on developing farm to consumer marketing such as CSAs, community kitchens and gardens, dining co-operatives as well as programs for low-income residents like WIC to market and farmers market foodbanking. I love to get my hands in the dirt when I can, though!

    Take care and thank you again!
    – Jenny

    • My delight. Well, I have to change the story then (nobody will ever know). I must have guessed the Crested Butte right (from memory)–I was thinking Gunnison? I have been to both places.

  3. Pingback: Monday Morning Mix-Up 10/26/09 - Kelly the Kitchen Kop

Leave a comment